Strategic Board

Meet the London North East Maths Hub Strategic Board



Board Member 

Position and organisation 

Local Authority


David Arrowsmith – CHAIR

Dean of Astrophysics at Queen Mary University

Tower Hamlets Higher Education Institution
Samira Islam

Maths Hub Lead and Assistant Head Teacher – Elmhurst Primary School 

Newham Primary
Leanne Lowe

Senior Leadership Link and Maths Hub Lead

Newham Primary
Shahed Ahmed

CEO New Vision Trust

Newham Primary
Sukwinder Samra

Head of Elmhurst Primary School

Newham Primary
Meryl Jordan

Maths Hub Coordinator

Newham Primary
  Bilal Tai

Maths Hub Coordinator

Newham Primary
Chris Dale

NCETM Senior Regional Lead

Magdalena Johnson

Vice Principal Student Achievement and Progress of NewVic

Newham Post 16
Ella Rice Technical Business Analyst  – School of Computing – QMU Tower Hamlets Higher Education Institution
Meherun Hamid

Head Teacher of Apex Primary

Redbridge Primary
  Ian Bennett

Head Teacher, Downshall Primary

Redbridge Primary
Rae Porter

Head Teacher, Sarah Bonnell Secondary

Newham Secondary
Mitch Karunaratne NE and NW London TSC Local Leader   Teaching School
Mariella di Caro London Partnership Co-Director of School Centred Initial Teacher Training Barking and Dagenham Secondary / School Centred Initial Teacher Training
Phil Grundy

Headteacher of Highams Park

Waltham Forest Secondary
Sue Gifford 

Senior Lecturer in maths education at Roehampton University

Roehampton  Higher Education Institution
Simon London

CEO, Empower Learning Academy Trust

Havering Secondary
James Morris

AMSP Coordinator

LNE Post 16
Dani Wade

Head of Learning & Achievement 

Wendy Finan

Senior Secondary Mathematics Teaching and Learning Consultant

Hackney Secondary