Secondary Work Groups

 

sec_courses1 sec_courses2

Below are the courses that we currently offer.

Year 5-8 Continuity 

This Work Group aims to help teachers improve the chances of pupils experiencing a smooth transition in their maths learning between primary and secondary school. The Work Group will address key issues by looking at a specific curriculum area, or pedagogical theme and collaboratively developing models of continuity of approach that support pupils through the transition phase.

More information will follow.

Target audience: Year 5 and 6 Primary teachers, KS3 Teachers of Maths, KS3 Coordinators, Anyone involved in KS2-KS3 transition

Cost: FREE of charge

Location: Henry Maynard Primary School, Maynard Rd, Walthamstow, London E17 9JE

Dates: 

Friday 24th January 2020

Wednesday 12th February 2020

Tuesday 10th March 2020

Wednesday 20th May 2020

Click here to view flyer

Click here to book

Challenging topics at GCSE

This Work Group is being convened to draw up an evidence-based list of challenging topics arising in the new GCSE and to explore effective ways of teaching some of these topics.

Target audience: KS3/KS4 maths teachers, particularly Y11 teachers
Cost: FREE of charge

Location: Sydney Russell Primary School, Fanshawe Cres, Dagenham RM9 5DL

Dates: 

Half day sessions from 12:30pm-4:00pm
Day 1: Thursday 12th December 2019
Day 2: Thursday 6th February 2020
Day 3: Thursday 19th March 2020
Day 4: Thursday 11th June 2020

Click here to view flyer

Click here to book

 

 

Mathematical thinking

This Work Group offers teachers and their departments nationally coordinated support to address the reasoning and problem-solving challenges of the mathematics curriculum and its assessment in the new GCSE.

Many departments will be considering not only the long-term development of these skills across KS3 and into KS4, but also the immediate needs of current KS4 pupils facing the challenges of the new GCSE. This Work Group aims to support both these aspects through professional development activities focusing on practical and accessible classroom-based approaches.

Participation also offers the opportunity to develop departmental professional development processes and produce longer-term improvement plans.

Target audience: KS4 Teachers and Coordinators 

Cost: FREE of charge

Cohort 1:

Location: Frances Bardsley School, Brentwood Road, Romford, RM1 2RR

Dates:

Thursday 7th November 2019

Wednesday 30th January 2020

Thursday 26th March 2020

Thursday 4th June 2020

Click here to view flyer

Cohort Full

Cohort 2:

Location: Eastbrook School, Dagenham Rd, Dagenham, RM10 7UR

Dates: 

Thursday 21st November 2019

Thursday 16th January 2020

Thursday 2nd April 2020

Thursday 11th June 2020

Click here to view flyer

Cohort Full

 

Developing Resilience and the Growth Mindset

The aim of this Work Group is to investigate these questions through designing trailing activities that look to improve pupils engagement through a growth mindset. We will be considering ways to encourage a positive approach to mathematics and how to help pupils make connections within their learning.

Target audience: Teachers in both primary and secondary schools who are working with disengaged pupils or pupils who have little belief in their mathematical ability. Participants will ideally be working these pupils during this academic year.

Cost: FREE of charge

Location: ETSA Newham, Elmhurst Primary School, Upton Park Road, Forest Gate, E7 8JY

Dates: 

Monday 25th November 2019

Monday 20th January 2020

Monday 16th March 2020

Monday 6th July 2020

Click here to view flyer

Cohort Full